Perspective

Yes it's a blog – but you knew that

Expectations

I finally figured it out. I still hope for good outcomes in life, but I have no expectations that anything good will happen. I don’t know when this lack of expectations started but I think I’ve arrived at the no expectations threshold. It’s not a depressing thing and maybe I’ll get back to my old Pollyanna ideals some day, but not now.

The glass is not half full or half empty, there is no glass to fill. The good part is not the lack of expectations but the realization that I don’t need any expectations to get up in the morning nor to work all day. Every day is just another day. The sun comes up, the sun goes down. Rinse, repeat…

I have friends who still have expectations, both for themselves and for me. But I just don’t get it anymore. I wonder if this is just getting old(er) or have I just reached the no expectation zone due to the crap around me. If it’s just the crap then it’s possible I’m just temporally miserable. Otherwise I’m just a miserable old fuck. Either way I see a theme here.

I have one friend who keeps telling me things I need to do to improve my situation. He still has expectations. He can’t understand that I don’t.

Written by Ruckus

March 5, 2010 at 2:27 am

Posted in Uncategorized

